You are here

NEW DATE! Dawn Tripp | Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe :: Norwich Women's Club Luncheon

dawn trippDue to the 2/13 winter storm, this event was rescheduled for Monday, February 27.

The Norwich Women's Club book and author luncheon will feature author Dawn Trip reading from and talking about her novel Georgia based on the life of Georgia O'Keefe.

In 1916, Georgia O'Keeffe is a young, unknown art teacher when she travels to New York to meet Stieglitz, the famed photographer and art dealer, who has discovered O'Keeffe's work and exhibits it in his gallery. Their connection is instantaneous. O'Keeffe is quickly drawn into Stieglitz's sophisticated world, becoming his mistress, protege, and muse, as their attraction deepens into an intense and tempestuous relationship and his photographs of her, both clothed and nude, create a sensation. Yet as her own creative force develops, Georgia begins to push back against what critics and others are saying about her and her art. And soon she must make difficult choices to live a life she believes in. 

"Complex and original . . . Georgia conveys O'Keeffe's joys and disappointments, rendering both the woman and the artist with keenness and consideration." --The New York Times Book Review 

Winner of the Massachusetts Book Award for fiction, Dawn Tripp is the author of the three previous novels. Her essays have appeared in The Virginia Quarterly Review, The Believer, The Rumpus, Psychology Today, and NPR. She graduated from Harvard and lives in Massachusetts with her husband and two sons.

Books are currently for sale at the bookstore if you would like to read it ahead of time and will be available at the Norwich Inn during the event.

Tickets are required and can be purchased through the NWC website, $30 for members; $35 for non-members, includes lunch, dessert and a glass of wine. UPDATE: Tickets for the original date were sold out - stay tuned about availablity for 2/27. We do have extra copies of the book available.

Event date: 
Monday, February 27, 2017 - 11:00am to 1:00pm
Event address: 
Norwich Inn
Main Street
Norwich, VT
Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981865
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade - January 17th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER - In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.
This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine.