You are here

Red Clocks (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Red Clocks Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 26 12:45am
(FICTION)

Staff Reviews


I keep thinking about this sharp incisive book by Zumas. At first it was a bit frenetic, each chapter is told from a different point. They are short and concise, which had the advantage of keeping the storyline moving. But when you start to sink in, to harness that energy, you notice that it’s a puzzle to figure out the relationships between the cast of characters. There’s Ro and her students, with her desire for a child and the way she brings to life the subject of her biography. Susan who doesn’t know if she wants to leave her marriage, but who everyone thinks should be happy with the life she has created. Mattie, the teenager who has a relationship to both women, but can’t turn to them in her time of need. And lastly, the Mender, a woman who sees the world differently and who has ties to all of the characters. Zumas set her tale in a future world, that now seems utterly devastating and timely. Read this book and be part of the larger conversation, for it will still be sounding in your head after you manage to finally put it down.

— From Beth's Picks

Description


A National Bestseller
A New York Times Editor's Choice
An Amazon Best Book of the Month

An Indie Next Pick
One of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This Winter
An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018
An Elle Best Book of Winter
A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall
A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall
A Nylon Best Book of the Month
One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eiv r, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.

About the Author


Leni Zumas is the author of the story collection Farewell Navigator and the novel The Listeners, which was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award. She is an associate professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Portland State University.


Coverage from NPR



Product Details
ISBN: 9780316434812
ISBN-10: 0316434817
Publisher: Little Brown and Company
Publication Date: January 16th, 2018
Pages: 368
Language: English