You are here

Farewell to Matyora (European Classics) (Paperback)

Farewell to Matyora (European Classics) Cover Image
By Valentin Rasputin, Antonina W. Bouis (Translated by), Kathleen Parthé (Foreword by)
Special Order (email to check availability)


A fine example of Village Prose from the post-Stalin era, Farewell to Matyora decries the loss of the Russian peasant culture to the impersonal, soulless march of progress.

It is the final summer of the peasant village of Matyora. A dam will be completed in the fall, destroying the village. Although their departure is inevitable, the characters over when, and even whether, they should leave. A haunting story with a heartfelt theme, Farewell to Matyora is a passionate plea for humanity and an eloquent cry for a return to an organic life.

About the Author

Valentin Grigoriyevich Rasputin (born March 15, 1937) is a Russian writer. He was born and lived much of his life in the Irkutsk Oblast in Eastern Siberia. Rasputin's works depict rootless urban characters and the fight for survival of centuries-old traditional rural ways of life. Rasputin covers complex questions of ethics and spiritual revival.

Kathleen Parthé is Professor of Russian Literature at the University of Rochester and the author of Russian Village Prose.

Antonina W. Bouis has translated numerous novels and plays from the Russian.


Praise For…

"Remarkable. . . . Rasputin is the kind of writer of whom Chekhov, that most sensible of all Russian writers, would have approved--a man linked to the soil through its people, apolitical without being nihilistic, profoundly humane." --Christian Science Monitor

"Farewell to Matyora is, next to Solzhenitsyn's One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich and 'Matryona's Home,' the most important work of literature written and published in the Soviet Union between Stalin's death in 1953 and the beginning of glasnost in 1985." --Kathleen Parthé

Product Details
ISBN: 9780810113299
Publisher: Northwestern University Press
Publication Date: September 1st, 1995
Pages: 227
Series: European Classics