You are here

Scenes of Clerical Life (Compact Disc)

Scenes of Clerical Life Cover Image
Special Order (call or email to check availability)


George Eliot's brilliant fiction debut contains three stories from the lives of clergymen, with the aim of disclosing the value hidden in the commonplace. "The Sad Fortunes of the Rev. Amos Barton" portrays a character who is hard to like and generally despised--until his suffering shocks others into fellowship and sympathy. In "Mr. Gilfil's Love-Story," young Caterina is courted by two opposite men: Wybrow, who is capable of loving only himself, and Mr. Gilfil, whose love is selfless. "Janet's Repentance" recounts a conversion from sinfulness to righteousness, achieved through the selfless endeavors of an evangelical clergyman. Written more than a decade after her break with the Christian faith, these tales represent Eliot's search for a "religion of humanity" compatible with the best qualities of Christianity.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781470889043
ISBN-10: 1470889048
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Publication Date: July 2013
Language: English