You are here

New and Selected Poems: Michael D. Higgins (Paperback)

New and Selected Poems: Michael D. Higgins Cover Image
Hard to Find (may be out of print - email to check availability)


This collection of poetry honors Michael D's life and loves as well as the lessons he has learned. Introductory passages offer a unique insight into the experiences that shape a poet's work, with a foreword from Abbot Mark Patrick Hederman OSB also featured.

New & Selected Poems is more than an ordinary poetry collection. With an introductory prose piece before each five sections, Michael D invites the reader into the mind of a poet and brings each poem to life by revealing some of the events that inspired and influenced.

Tracing his life from his "Early Days" when he (aged five) and his brother were sent to live with an aunt and uncle, through to his migration to Galway in "Of Rural Realities," these wonderful stories shape his poems. Michael D's life is laid out - raw and honest: the changes in his family life from childhood; his entry into politics, public life, and world affairs; and the appreciation, importance, enjoyment, and loss of friendship. These are his own reflections on a rich and varied life as he casts a wry but compassionate eye on human weakness and resilience, and the centrality of love for all human relationships.

New & Selected Poems is a treasury of the very best of his writing over the years and is sure to enthrall younger readers as well as his established followers. Featuring acclaimed poems such as 'The betrayal' from The Betrayal, 'Brothers' from Season of Fire, and An Arid Season's 'Ass', New & Selected Poems also reveals among other new poems, Michael D's latest including 'Of Possibility', 'The Truth of Poetry', and 'The Poisoning'.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781907593208
ISBN-10: 1907593209
Publisher: Liberties Press
Publication Date: August 24th, 2011
Pages: 192
Language: English