You are here

Children’s Chapter Books & Graphic Novels

From first chapter books with illustrations to longer novels for 5th and 6th graders - paperback and hardcover. Updated frequently, please check back often!

The Dust Bowl #1 (American Horse Tales #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593225257
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 29th, 2021

Set in the 1930s Oklahoma, this American Horse Tale is the story of a young girl who makes the difficult decision to leave her family and move to California so she can stay with her horse.


Any Way the Wind Blows (Simon Snow Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250254337
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Wednesday Books - July 6th, 2021

New York Times bestselling author Rainbow Rowell's epic fantasy, the Simon Snow trilogy, concludes with Any Way the Wind Blows.


Rise to the Sun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338662238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Scholastic Press - July 6th, 2021

From the author of You Should See Me in a Crown, Leah Johnson delivers a stunning novel about being brave enough to be true to yourself, and learning to find joy even when times are unimaginably dark.

Olivia is an expert at falling in love . . . and at being dumped.


Verity Fairy: Sleeping Beauty Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780744039337
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: DK Children - June 1st, 2021

Discover the classic fairy tale, Sleeping Beauty, like never before!

Let your little fairy princess rediscover the story of Sleeping Beauty while exploring the Fairy Tale Kingdom – a place where all of the famous fairy tales coexist and intertwine. 

Inside the pages of this charming nursery book, you’ll discover:


Franklin Endicott and the Third Key: Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Volume Six Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781536201819
Availability: Backordered (email to check availability)
Published: Candlewick - June 8th, 2021

The latest tale from Deckawoo Drive—and New York Times best-selling creators Kate DiCamillo and Chris Van Dusen—is a balm for young worrywarts facing the unknown.


Shark Summer Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316461443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 25th, 2021

Shark Summer is bursting with vibrant, expressive art....The characters are distinct and relatable...It’s a lovely read!”—Molly Knox Ostertag, author of the Witch Boy series

"Eloquently chronicled in Marcks’s cinematic panels, friendships are formed and repaired, parental relationships articulated, and inner conflicts expressed and resolved. A


The Cardboard Kingdom #2: Roar of the Beast Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593125557
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 1st, 2021

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and All's Faire in Middle School, this sequel to the Eisner Award-nominated The Cardboard Kingdom follows the kids as they solve the mystery of a new neighborhood monster.

A mystery is afoot in the Cardboard Kingdom.


No One Returns From the Enchanted Forest Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250211538
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: First Second - May 25th, 2021

In this fantasy adventure graphic novel from debut author-illustrator Robin Robinson, a shy goblin must play the role of hero.


Sisters of the Neversea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062869975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Heartdrum - June 1st, 2021

In this beautifully reimagined story by NSK Neustadt Laureate and New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith (Muscogee Creek), Native American Lily and English Wendy embark on a high-flying journey of magic, adventure, and courage to a fairy-tale island known as Neverland&


Wayside School Beneath the Cloud of Doom Cover Image
By Louis Sachar, Tim Heitz (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062965417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: HarperCollins - June 1st, 2021

Wayside School is back in session in this brand-new, fourth installment in the perennially beloved and bestselling series by Newbery Medal-winning author Louis Sachar. 


The Mending Summer Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062985651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: HarperCollins - May 25th, 2021

Perfect for fans of Orphan Island and WishtreeThe Mending Summer is the next stunning middle grade novel from Ali Standish—author of the Carnegie Medal nominee The Ethan I Was Before and August Isle, Bad Bella, and How to Disappear Completely—about a girl who is struggling to deal with her father’s alcoholi


Da Vinci's Cat Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063015258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 25th, 2021

Two unlikely friends—Federico, in sixteenth-century Rome, and Bee, in present-day New Jersey—are linked through an amiable cat, Leonardo Da Vinci’s mysterious wardrobe, and an eerily perfect sketch of Bee. Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Da Vinci’s Cat is a thrilling, time-slip fantasy about rewriting history to save the present.


What Comes Next Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525648024
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Delacorte Press - June 8th, 2021

From the beloved author of the MR. TERUPT and PERFECT SCORE series comes this stand-alone middle-grade novel about a girl who is dealing with the tragic loss of her best friend, and the dog that helps her forge new friendships and find happiness once again.


Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593121399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Yearling Books - June 1st, 2021

A coming-of-age tale about a boy who proves that with superhero courage--and a few great sidekicks--you can take on even the toughest of odds. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson.


Rez Dogs Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593326213
Availability: Usually Available in 3-7 Days
Published: Dial Books - June 8th, 2021

****Four starred reviews ****

From the U.S.'s foremost Indigenous children's author comes a middle grade verse novel set during the COVID-19 pandemic, about a Wabanaki girl's quarantine on her grandparents' reservation and the local dog that becomes her best friend


Max's Story: A Puppy Tale Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780765395023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Starscape - June 1st, 2021

Now in paperback! Meet Maxa very special dog with a very important purpose featured in A Dog's Journey, now a major motion picture! Young readers will love this story in the popular A Dog's Purpose Puppy Tales series by bestselling author W. Bruce Cameron.


Leaving Lymon (The Finding Langston Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823449422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Holiday House - June 1st, 2021

A companion novel to Finding Langston, recipient of a Coretta Scott King Writing Honor and winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction.

Behind every bad boy is a story worth hearing and at least one chance for redemption. It's 1946 and Lymon, uprooted from his life in the Deep South and moved up North, needs that chance.


Pizazz Cover Image
By Sophy Henn, Sophy Henn (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534492424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Aladdin - June 1st, 2021

Discover the annoying side of being a superhero from snarky, reluctant hero Pizazz in this hilarious and highly illustrated new series for young middle graders—perfect for fans of Dog Man and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

Most people think superhero work is awesome and fulfilling. Pizazz knows better.


Pizazz vs. the New Kid Cover Image
By Sophy Henn, Sophy Henn (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534492455
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Aladdin - June 1st, 2021

Snarky, reluctant caped crusader Pizazz butts heads with another superhero kid in this hilarious and highly illustrated new novel—perfect for fans of Dog Man and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

There’s a new kid at Pizazz’s school…a new super kid. A super competitive, super skilled, super popular superhero.


Pages & Co.: The Map of Stories Cover Image
By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984837349
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Philomel Books - June 1st, 2021

The third magical bookwandering adventure in the nationally bestselling Pages & Co. series, featuring Tilly Pages as she journeys to Washington, DC, to wander inside the books at the Library of Congress. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and The Land of Stories.


Hilda and the Mountain King (Hildafolk #6) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781913123918
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Flying Eye Books - June 1st, 2021

Now in paperback! See what perils await our beloved blue-haired adventurer in the sixth book of Luke Pearson's widely praised series.


Ragweed and Poppy Cover Image
By Avi, Brian Floca (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062671363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: HarperCollins - May 11th, 2021

The first new book about Poppy in more than ten years, from Newbery Medal-winning author Avi with illustrations throughout by Caldecott Medal-winning artist Brian Floca.

Ragweed and Poppy is one of the "10 Top Middle-Grade Summer Reads," according to Kirkus Reviews!


The Shape of Thunder Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062956675
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 11th, 2021

An extraordinary new novel from Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home, about loss and healing—and how friendship can be magical.

Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a year.


Mr. Lemoncello and the Titanium Ticket (Mr. Lemoncello's Library) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780525647775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Yearling - May 11th, 2021

Can you find your way out of what James Patterson calls the "coolest library in the world"? For the first time, you are invited INSIDE Mr. Lemoncello's one-of-a-kind Gameworks Factory!


The Turnover Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534421592
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

From New York Times bestselling author Mike Lupica comes a story about a young basketball player confronting the truth about his hero and grappling with right and wrong on and off the court.

Gramps is Lucas’s hero, which is second only to the fact that he is also Lucas’s basketball coach.


Bear Bottom (FunJungle) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534479463
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

In the seventh novel in New York Times bestselling Stuart Gibbs’s FunJungle series, Teddy Fitzroy returns as FunJungle’s resident sleuth to solve the disappearances of endangered bison and an irreplaceable necklace.

Teddy Fitzroy, his family, and some other FunJungle employees have been invited to visit a bison ranch just outside Yellowstone National Park that FunJ