Find A Book

Shopping cart

Find A Book

Search form

Shopping cart

Amy Belding Brown, in conversation with Aífe Murray -- Emily's House -- ONLINE

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THIS ONLINE EVENT!

 

 

An evocative new novel about Emily Dickinson's longtime maid, Irish immigrant Margaret Maher, whose bond with the poet ensured Dickinson's work would live on, from the USA Today bestselling author of Flight of the Sparrow, Amy Belding Brown.

 

Massachusetts, 1869. Margaret Maher has never been one to settle down. At twenty-seven, she's never met a man who has tempted her enough to relinquish her independence to a matrimonial fate, and she hasn't stayed in one place for long since her family fled the potato famine a decade ago.

 

When Maggie accepts a temporary position at the illustrious Dickinson family home in Amherst, it's only to save money for her upcoming trip West to join her brothers in California. Maggie never imagines she will form a life-altering friendship with the eccentric, brilliant Miss Emily or that she'll stay at the Homestead for the next thirty years.

 

In this richly drawn novel, Amy Belding Brown explores what it is to be an outsider looking in, and she sheds light on one of Dickinson's closest confidantes--perhaps the person who knew the mysterious poet best--whose quiet act changed history and continues to influence literature to this very day.

 

Amy Belding Brown is the author of historical novels, including the USA Today bestselling Flight of the Sparrow, and Mr. Emerson's Wife. A New England history enthusiast, Amy was infused at an early age with the region's outlook and values. A graduate of Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, she received her MFA from Vermont College and now lives in rural Vermont with her husband, a UCC minister and spiritual director.
 

Aífe Murray is the author of Maid as Muse: How Servants Changed Emily Dickinson’s Life and Language (2010) and Art of Service, an artists’ book collaboration with the Dickinson Museum house cleaners and gardeners (1997). She is co-producer and on-air “Rogue Scholar” for The Slave is Gone, the new podcast that talks back to DICKINSON — the AppleTV+ show about poet Emily Dickinson's coming of age. Poets Jericho Brown and Brionne Janae, with help from Aífe, break down what's historically and emotionally true in DICKINSON -- and always bring it back to Emily Dickinson's risk-taking and luminous poetry. AppleTV+ DICKINSON owes its servant plot line & much more to Maid as Muse.

Event date: 
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Virtual Event Via Zoom Webinar!
Norwich, VT 05055-0307
Emily's House Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593199633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Berkley - August 3rd, 2021

She was Emily Dickinson’s maid, her confidante, her betrayer… and the savior of her legacy.
 


Flight of the Sparrow: A Novel of Early America Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780451466693
Availability: Usually Available in 3-7 Days
Published: Berkley - July 1st, 2014

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter.


Event Summary: 
An evocative new novel about Emily Dickinson's longtime maid, Irish immigrant Margaret Maher, whose bond with the poet ensured Dickinson's work would live on.

The Norwich Bookstore is locally-owned, community-focused, and proudly independent!