Find A Book

Shopping cart

Shopping cart

Caren Beilin, with Makenna Goodman--Revenge of the Scapegoat

This in store event is free to attend and open to the public, and no pre-registration is required. Please note that, for the safety of our customers, booksellers, and guest authors, face masks are required at Norwich Bookstore events.

From the author of Blackfishing the IUD, a darkly hilarious novel about familial trauma, chronic illness, academic labor, and contemporary art.

 

In the tradition of Rabelais, Swift, and Fran Ross--the tradition of biting satire that joyfully embraces the strange and fantastical--and drawing upon documentary strategies from Sheila Heti, Caren Beilin offers a tale of familial trauma that is also a broadly inclusive skewering of academia, the medical industry, and the contemporary art scene.

 

One day Iris, an adjunct at a city arts college, receives a terrible package: recently unearthed letters that her father had written to her in her teens, in which he blames her for their family's crises. Driven by the raw fact of receiving these devastating letters not once but twice in a lifetime, and in a panic of chronic pain brought on by rheumatoid arthritis, Iris escapes to the countryside--or some absurdist version of it. Nazi cows, Picassos used as tampons, and a pair of arthritic feet that speak in the voices of Flaubert's Bouvard and Pécuchet are standard fare in this beguiling novel of odd characters, surprising circumstances, and intuitive leaps, all brought together in profoundly serious ways.

 

Caren Beilin is the author most recently of a nonfiction book, Blackfishing the IUD, and a memoir, Spain. She teaches creative writing at the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts and lives close by, in Vermont.

 

Makenna Goodman lives and works in Vermont. The Shame is her first novel.

 

 

 

Event date: 
Friday, May 20, 2022 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
291 Main St
Norwich, VT 05055-0307
Revenge of the Scapegoat Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781948980074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (call to confirm availability)
Published: Dorothy, a publishing project - April 12th, 2022

From the author of Blackfishing the IUD, a darkly hilarious novel about familial trauma, chronic illness, academic labor, and contemporary art.
 


The Shame Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781571311368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (call to confirm availability)
Published: Milkweed Editions - August 11th, 2020

A "startlingly original" novel of "recursive loops through the mind of a woman who is breaking down from not making the art she absolutely must make" (Alexander Chee, Paris Review).


Caren Beilin, with Makenna Goodman--Revenge of the Scapegoat--Friday, May 20 at 7pm
Event Summary: 
From the author of Blackfishing the IUD, a darkly hilarious novel about familial trauma, chronic illness, academic labor, and contemporary art.

The Norwich Bookstore is locally owned, community focused, and proudly independent!