You are here

Independent Bookstore Day & StoryWalk with Mary Lynn Ray | The Friendship Book -- POSTPONED

Postponed - tentatively rescheduled on August 29
ibd postponedIndependent Bookstore Day is a one-day national party that takes place at indie bookstores like ours across the country on the last Saturday in April. Every store is unique and independent, and every party is different. 

m l rayWhat better way to mark Indie Bookstore Day than with a celebration of friendship and thanks? We are delighted to welcome local author Mary Lyn Ray who will be on hand from 10:00 until noon to talk about writing and sign books. 

In collaboration with the Norwich Library we  will create a StoryWalk featuring The Friendship Book. This is a charming and honest primer on friendship, and companion to The Thank You Book, both written by Stephanie Graegin and illustrated by Mary Lyn Ray.

StoryWalks are a way for families to enjoy a picture book and the outdoors at the same time! The pages are set in frames around the Norwich Square and will be on display for about two weeks for you to enjoy at your leisure. (Dates TBA.)

And all day, Saturday, April 25th, we will have exclusive books and literary items that you can get only on that day. Not before. Not after - if we sell out. Not online. 
 

Why celebrate independent bookstores? A good question, answered by a reader:

"Independent bookstores are not just stores, they’re community centers and local anchors run by passionate readers. They are entire universes of ideas that contain the possibility of real serendipity. They are lively performance spaces and quiet places where aimless perusal is a day well-spent.

"In a world of tweets and algorithms and pageless digital downloads, bookstores are not a dying anachronism. They are living, breathing organisms that continue to grow and expand. In fact, there are more of them this year than there were last year. And they are at your service."

Event date: 
Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Event address: 
Norwich Bookstore
291 Main Street
Norwich, VT
The Friendship Book Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Stephanie Graegin (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781328488992
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - December 17th, 2019

With charming art and poetry, this honest primer on friendship, and companion to The Thank You Book, captures the many ways friendships are formed and what it means to be a friend.


The Thank You Book Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Stephanie Graegin (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780544791367
Availability: Usually Available in 3-7 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

Perfect for fans of Margaret Wise Brown and Pat Zietlow Miller’s Be KindThe Thank You Book explores the many ways of being thankful that can fill a child's day.