You are here

Joshua Bennett | The Sobbing School :: Creative Writing Prize Ceremony

joshua bennettThe Department of English and Creative Writing welcomes Joshua Bennett, judge of this year's creative writing prize submissions, to award the prizes and present a reading of his work.

Joshua Bennett is the author of The Sobbing School which was selected as a winner of the 2015 National Poetry Series by Eugene Gloria. He holds a Ph.D. in English from Princeton University, and an M.A. in Theatre and Performance Studies from the University of Warwick, where he was a Marshall Scholar. Dr. Bennett's writing has been published in Boston Review, Callaloo, The Kenyon Review, Poetry and elsewhere. He tours nationally and internationally as a performance artist and has recited his original work at the Sundance Film Festival, The NAACP Image Awards, and President Obama's Evening of Poetry, Music, and the Spoken Word at the White House. Dr. Bennett is currently a member of the Society of Fellows at Harvard University, and lives in New York City.

"At the heart of Joshua Bennett's debut collection lies grief, but his poems also pay tribute to the human will to endure. There are glimpses here of James Baldwin and Zora Neale Hurston where Bennett's syntactical dexterity and feeling for language meet the rhythm and flow of dangerous music. His poems of identity are also poems of imagery and invention, and they testify to poetry's endless mutability through story and song, lament and praise. The Sobbing School is an essential book for our times."  - Eugene Gloria

This event is free and open to all. Refreshments will be served and the Norwich Bookstore will be on hand with books for purchase and signing.


Event date: 
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
Event address: 
Sanborn Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH
The Sobbing School (National Poetry) Cover Image
By Joshua Bennett, Eugene Gloria (Selected by)
ISBN: 9780143111863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (call or email to check availability)
Published: Penguin Books - September 27th, 2016

A "sharp" and "scintillating" (Publishers Weekly) debut collection of poetry, selected by Eugene Gloria as a winner of the National Poetry Series