You are here

L. Annette Binder | The Vanishing Sky - ONLINE

l annette binderWe are happy to celebrate the launch of The Vanishing Sky with local writer, L. Annette Binder! She will be interviewd by author Rachel Barenbaum and read a passge from the book. We plan to have time for Q&A at the end. Signed copies are available to order and will be ready shortly following the event.

To join the celebration, please email virtual@norwichbookstore.com for a link.

***

Drawing inspiration from her own father's time in the Hitler Youth, L. Annette Binder has crafted a spellbinding debut novel about the choices we make for country and for family.

Set in Germany in 1945, The Vanishing Sky is a World War II novel as seen through a German lens, a story of the irreparable damage of war on the home front, and one family's participation-involuntary, unseen, or direct-in a dangerous regime. 

"...The Vanishing Sky is so fiercely imagined, so wondrously conjured, that what you hold not only pulls you into its history but into a world of pure yearning, determination, struggle, and hope." -- Paul Yoon, author of The Mountain 

L. Annette Binder was born in Germany, immigrated to the U.S. as a small child, and currently lives in the Upper Valley. She holds degrees in classics and law from Harvard, an MA and an MFA from the University of California. Her short stories have been included in several anthologies. 

***

r barenbaumA Bend in the Stars, Rachel Barenbaum's debut novel, has been recently released in paperback.  Set amid the chaos of World War I and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914, A Bend in the Stars offers a heart-stopping account of modern science's greatest race and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

"... A beautiful thrill ride steeped in the history of Czarist Russia, from its poverty-ridden shtetls to its roaring trains, and the awesome lure of science. This is a book of history rewritten, dreams realized, and justice served---a book about relativity, war, hatred, and the weight of our assumptions and our great loves."-- Michelle Hoover, author of The Quickening

Rachel is a prolific writer and reviewer for the Los Angeles Review of Books and DeadDarlings. She is a graduate of GrubStreet's "Novel Incubator." She has degrees from Harvard in Business, and Literature and Philosophy. 
 

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
ONLINE
Staff Pick Badge
The Vanishing Sky Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635574678
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - July 21st, 2020

For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II.

Included in the New York Times Book Review's Summer Reading Guide for Historical Fiction

“There was no shelter without her sons.”


A Bend in the Stars Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538746288
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (email to confirm availability)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 12th, 2020

All the Light We Cannot See meets The Nightingale in this literary WWI-era novel and epic love story of a brilliant young doctor who races against Einstein to solve one of the universe's great mysteries.