You are here

Rachel Barenbaum | A Bend in the Stars

r barenbaumJoin us to listen as Rachel Barenbaum discusses her debut novel A Bend in the Stars.

In Russia, summer of 1914, war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community. Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fiancé. Miri braves the threat of a  firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself, hangs in the balance. 

Rachel Barenbaum is a graduate of Grub Street's Novel Incubator program. In a former life she was a hedge fund manager and a spin instructor, before moving to the New Hampshire woods to write. She has an MBA from the Harvard Business School and an AB in Literature and Philosophy from Harvard College. A Bend in the Stars is her first novel.

"A sweeping epic that transports the reader into another era, even as the struggles of its characters feel powerfully modern and timely."-- Madeline Miller, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Circe

 

Free and open to the public. Reservations are not needed.

Event date: 
Tuesday, July 9, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Howe Library
13 South Street
Hanover, NH
A Bend in the Stars Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538746264
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (call or email to confirm availability)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 14th, 2019

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes this bestselling, riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.